Mossley club’s runaway success at Tameside Sports Awards

MOSSLEY AFC Running Club walked away with two major awards from the Tameside Sports Awards at Dukinfield Town Hall.

Mossley Running Club

They were named the borough’s club of the year while secretary Nicola Steen was volunteer of the year.

Mossley were one of 17 clubs nominated for the team award while Nicola headed a list of 18 people who were shortlisted.

The team award was special bearing in mind that the running club was formed less than two years ago.

Nicola said: “When we started we only had 12 members, today it is almost 200 and we are fully accredited to England Athletics and have a good set up behind the scenes.

“We have a nine strong committee and 15 members are qualified as group leaders.” Nicola described it as a night to remember: “It was emotional and the day after  was a blur and a shock.

“It was a nice surprise to be nominated, but even more so to win.”

And the running club’s involvement in local schools and charity fundraising also contributed to their success.

Nicola Steen

Of her award, Nicola admitted: “Maybe I am the bossy one and the glue of the committee, but there are a lot of others turning the cogs.

“I am lucky in that I work part time so can put time aside to deal with club matters. And I am also lucky to have an understanding husband.”

The other officials are: Steve Homer, chair; Hannah Ellis, treasurer; Helen Wrigley, membership secretary, Mark Egerton, kit man, Steve Grainger, welfar officer and committee members Chris Phillips, Colin Edwards and Steve Bates.

Shannon Dover, from Samuel Laycock School, was named disabled sports achiever of the year.

She competed in T20 sprint and middle distance athletics.

Shannon, who trains with former international athlete Diane Modahl, won three gold medals at National Disabled Athletics Championships and a further three golds at the North West Disabled Athletics Championships.

Shannon Dover

She beat two 18-year-olds in the nationals while competing in the U14 age category.

The awards presented were:

• Coach of the Year: Ian Harrison (Droylsden Amateur Boxing Club)

• Sports Achiever of the Year: Angela Oldham (East Cheshire Harriers)

• Disabled Sports Achiever of the Year: Shannon Dover (Samuel Laycock School)

• Alex Williams Volunteer of the Year: Nicola Steen (secretary, Mossley AFC Running Club)

• Unsung Hero of the Year: Harry Twamley (chairman, Curzon Ashton FC)

• Club of the Year: Mossley AFC Running Club

• Changing Lifestyle Special Recognition Award: Jonathan Clutterbuck

• The School Commitment to PE and Sport Award: St John Fisher RC Primary School

The winners will now represent Tameside in the Greater Manchester Sports Awards at Lancashire Cricket Club on Friday, November 17 at Lancashire Cricket Club.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *