Tameside’s youngest mayor is trailblazer

LEIGH Drennan, the new Civic Mayor of Tameside, is a trailblazer.

Cllr Denise Ward pictured with new Tameside Mayor, Cllr Leigh Drennan

Aged only 27, Cllr Drennan is the youngest of the 46 mayors since the formation of the Metropolitan Borough of Tameside in 1974.

Cllr Drennan is also the borough’s first openly gay mayor and he will be supported by partner Cory James who will be his consort.

He was first elected to Tameside Council in 2012 representing Ashton Hurst when he was the authority’s youngest member.

Cllr Drennan, whose family comes from Droylsden and Clayton, was deputy mayor in 2018-19.

He is chair of the speakers’ panel (licensing) and a member of the Greater Manchester Pension Fund management/advisory panel, member of Tameside North Strategic Neighbourhood Forum and the speakers’ panel (liquor licencing).

Cllr Drennan was also founding chair of Hartshead Estate Homewatch.

His charity appeal fund will be supporting five good causes during his year in office – Believe and Achieve Trust, LGBT Foundation, Millstream Animal Shelter, Tameside4Good and Tameside, Oldham and Glossop MIND.

• Cllr Claire Reid, from Denton South, was elected deputy mayor and she will be supported by her husband Paul.

They took over at short notice from Cllr Eleanor Wills, from Dukinfield/Stalybridge ward, who had been due to be deputy mayor.

Cllr Wills had to relinquish the post after being invited to become a Cabinet member. Her brief will be health, social care and population health. She will also serve on the Greater Manchester Pension Fund.

The Cabinet comprises Cllr Brenda Warrington (executive leader); Cllr Bill Fairfoull (deputy executive leader and children and families); Cllr Oliver Ryan (finance and economic growth); Cllr Ged Cooney (housing, planning and employment); Cllr Leanne Feeley (lifelong learning, equalities, culture and heritage); Cllr Allison Gwynne (neighbourhoods, community safety and environment); Cllr Warren Bray (transport and connectivity). Cllr Joe Kitchen is the lead member, the chair of council business.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *